Photo: (c)  Alex Eggermont

Barbara Zangerl and Jacobo Larcher climbs the legendary „Nose“ (5.14a / X +) at El Capitan in the Yosemite Valley free. Babsi has alos the second female ascent after Lynn Hill. The first ascent of the 1000-meter-long climbing route on El Capitan in the Yosemite Valley in California (USA) was one of the legendary races. Warren Harding and Mark Powell had just beaten by Royal Robbins at the first ascent of the northwest wall of the Half Dome. Now they were looking for a comparably outstanding goal. So they decided in the summer of 1957, enter the striking edge (The Nose) between the southeast and southwest wall of El Capitan. On November 12, 1958, Harding finally managed the first ascent with Wayne Merry, George Whitmore and Rich Calderwood in 47 days! with several attempts. His rival Royal Robbins then made the first repeat in just 7 days in 1960, along with Joe Flitchen, Chuck Pratt and Tom Frost. In 1993, climbing history was written again. Originally not considered completely free climbing, Lynn Hill, accompanied by her partner Brooke Sandahl, was able to climb the route on El Capitan. A year later, she was able to climb the entire route in a single day. Lynn Hills freed the route 5.13b (X-), now graded solid (5.14a / X +). The free ascent of the Nose remained unrepeatable for five years despite numerous attempts by some of the best bigwall climbers in the world. It was not until 1998, Scott Burke the second free ascent. On October 16, 2005, Tom Caldwell climb the route in less than twelve hours.

Free Ascents:

1993: Lynn Hill

1994: Lynn Hill (redpoint in one day)

1998 Scott Burke (one of the Cruxes only in Toprope)

2005: Tommy Caldwell and Beth Rodden (changeover)

2005: Tommy Caldwell (redpoint in one day)

2014: Jörg Verhoeven

2018: Keita Kurakami

2018: Connor Herson

2019: Seb Berthe

2019: Babsi Zangerl and Jacopo Larcher (changeover)